More Chinese airports added to Canadian transit scheme

TD Guest Writer

Guest Writers are not employed, compensated or governed by TD, opinions and statements are from the specific writer directly

Security at Toronto's Pearson International Airport (photo by Serjio74)
Security at Toronto’s Pearson International Airport (photo by Serjio74)

The Canadian government has added five more Chinese airports to its China Transit Program (CTP), which enables Chinese travellers to connect to the US via Canada, without the need for a Canadian visa.

The airports in Xiamen, Fuzhou, Chengdu, Shenyang and Harbin have now been added to the list, taking the total number of airports in the CTP to 14. Beijing, Hong Kong, Guangzhou, Shanghai Pudong, Manila, Taipei Taoyuan, Tokyo Narita, Tokyo Haneda and Seoul Incheon are already involved in the scheme.

The CTP’s expansion was welcomed by the Canadian Airports Council (CAC).

“Expansion of visa-free travel to more cities in Asia is good not only for Canada’s international hub airports but also for the wider airports community that can benefit from increased connectivity to new destinations,” said Daniel-Robert Gooch, president of the CAC.

“China is an extremely important aviation market for Canada. We urge further expansion of CTP to more countries and carriers in Asia with the eventual goal of Transit Without Visa (TWOV) for the international-to-international traveller segment.”

The scheme is applicable Chinese and US passport holders travelling on flights with 10 approved airlines, including Air Canada, Air China, Cathay Pacific, China Southern Airlines and Philippine Airlines, transiting through Toronto or Vancouver airports.
You might also like

Comments are closed.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time