Myanmar expands visa-on-arrival list

TD Editor

Myanmar has added more countries to its visa-on-arrival list to make it easier for tourists to visit the country as it raises its tourism appeal worldwide. Effective from October, tourists from six countries (Australia, Germany, Italy, Russia, Spain and Switzerland) are eligible for a visa-on-arrival (VOA) at Myanmar’s Yangon, Mandalay and Nay Pyi Taw international airports.

Nationals of the listed countries do not need to secure pre-arranged approval before arriving at the airport as was the case in the past. They can apply for a visa at the VOA counters at any of the designated airports. The fee for the visa on arrival is USD 50.

Japanese, South Korean, Hong Kong and Macau nationals were granted visa-free entry last year. Indian and Chinese nationals from mainland China were also granted VOA. During the second quarter of this year, the tourism industry in Myanmar witnessed an increase in arrivals from all the nations that were either eligible for visa-free entry or a VOA.

“We hope that all these new regulations to ease access to Myanmar will lead to more travellers from around the world to explore our unique culture, nature and the hospitality of the people,” said May Myat Mon Win, chairperson of Myanmar Tourism Marketing.
You might also like

Comments are closed.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time