Rajasthan forts get UNESCO status

TD Guest Writer

Guest Writers are not employed, compensated or governed by TD, opinions and statements are from the specific writer directly

The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO) has announced its new world heritage sites.

Jaisalmer Fort
Jaisalmer Fort


The World Heritage Committee has inscribed the hill forts of Rajasthan as new cultural World Heritage sites. The sites include six majestic forts of Chittorgarh, Kumbhalgarh, Ranthambore, Jaisalmer, Amber Fort (Jaipur) and Gagron Fort (Jhalawar).  UNESCO stated that the eclectic architecture of the forts, some up to 20 kilometers in circumference, bears testimony to the power of the Rajput princely states that flourished in the region from the 8th to the 18th centuries.

You might also like

Comments are closed.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time