Turkey provinces attain UNESCO World Heritage status

TD Guest Writer

Guest Writers are not employed, compensated or governed by TD, opinions and statements are from the specific writer directly

The Bursa province in Turkey
The Bursa province in Turkey

The two Turkish provinces – Cumalikizik in Bursa, known as the birthplace of the Ottoman Empire, and the cultural landscape of Pergamon in the Izmir province – have been recently awarded the UNESCO World Heritage status. This recognition was handed out at the 38th World Heritage Committee meeting in Doha.

“This is an honour for us,” said Mustafa Ozdemir, cultural & information attaché, Cultural & Information Office Turkish Consulate General in Dubai. “Both the provinces are culturally and historically significant for the Turkish people. In addition Pergamon in Izmir was once considered the heart of the literature and art scene in Turkey, housing some of the biggest libraries of the Hellenistic period.”

Turkey now has 13 cultural and mixed locations. The other 11 sites include the historic areas of Istanbul, the Great Mosque and Hospital of Divrigi, Hattusha, Mount Nemrut, Xanthos-Letoon, Troy, Goreme National Park and Cappadocia, Hierapolis-Pamukkale, the City of Safranbolu, the Selimiye Mosque and its Social Complex and the Neolithic Site of Catalhoyuk.

You might also like

Comments are closed.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time